Join my mailing list

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with

  • White Instagram Icon
  • Jon


The series follows the adventures of Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third who we meet as an 11-year-old (and who turns 13 in book 9). Hiccup is learning how to be a Viking, which he is not very good at. His training involves having a dragon as your obedient companion which he must train for hunting and other essential Viking activities such as being a pirate. Hiccup also has to deal with the fact that he is the heir to the Hooligan Tribe as his father, Stoick the Vast, is the chief which puts considerably pressure on Hiccup to be the best possible Viking.

The books are great for reading aloud for a 5-7 year old and suitable for an 8-12 year old reader. And despite the movie baring no resemblance to the books it is pretty good too!

The series in order:

  1. How to Train Your Dragon

  2. How to Be a Pirate

  3. How to Speak Dragonese

  4. How to Cheat a Dragon’s Curse

  5. How to Twist a Dragon’s Tale

  6. A Hero’s Guide to Deadly Dragons

  7. How to Ride a Dragon’s Storm

  8. How to Break a Dragon’s Heart

  9. How to Steal a Dragon’s Sword

#books #howtotrainyoudragon